The average increase in auto insurance in Indiana after a DUI is 87%, based on Bankrate’s study of annual premiums cited in 2021 by Quadrant Information Services. That means drivers in Indiana can pay almost double what they paid before a drinking and driving conviction. While this increase is significant, it is not as large as the national average of 99%. Nonetheless, drivers convicted of a DUI can expect a substantial increase in auto insurance costs when renewing a policy or changing providers. In addition, other fines, costs or consequences can impact drivers convicted of impaired driving, even years later.
DUI Laws in Indiana
In Indiana, a DUI conviction can be more commonly known as operating while intoxicated (OWI). For the purposes of our study, the two terms can be used interchangeably as they both refer to driving a vehicle with a blood alcohol level greater than 0.08. A driver with a blood alcohol level between 0.08 and 0.14 is considered drunk by Indiana law and will generally be charged with a Class C offense. Any driver with a blood alcohol level equal to or greater than 0.15 is guilty of a class A misdemeanor.
If convicted of a DUI / OWI in Indiana, the charge remains on the driver’s permanent record. If a driver is the subject of multiple drunk driving arrests within five years, the charge often turns into a felony.
Indiana DUI penalties may include the following, depending on the conviction:
|Jail||Fine||License suspension||Ignition lock|
|1st DUI||60 days or less; up to one year for a blood alcohol level of 0.15% or more.||$ 500 or less; Up to $ 5,000 for a blood alcohol level of 0.15% or more.||Up to 180 days.||IID possible for 60 days or less.|
|2nd DUI||3 days to 3 years.||Up to $ 10,000.||180 days to 2 years.||Up to 3 years.|
|3rd DUI||10 days to 3 years.||Up to $ 10,000.||1-10 years.||Up to 3 years.|
If a driver is convicted of a felony for impaired driving, he can spend between 6 months and 2.5 years in jail and face a fine of up to $ 10,000. A judge can also order community service and participation in a drug addiction course. It depends on the judge, however, as there is no standing warrant for either.
How a DUI Affects Your Auto Insurance in Indiana
After a DUI, all drivers (regardless of what state they live in) should be aware that auto insurance companies may not renew a policy. A DUI is a red flag for suppliers, as it suggests that there could be future traffic violations, one of which could result in the filing of a significant claim. It is for this reason that many providers will simply cancel a DUI driver’s policy. Historical data supports the concern for risk; a third of all DUI arrests are repeat offenders, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
At the very least, drivers with a DUI or OWI conviction should be prepared for an increase in their auto insurance premium. However, compared to the national average, drivers in Indiana fare a little better than many Americans after a DUI, but the premium increase is still quite large.
Nationally, most drivers with a DUI conviction pay double what they paid before the incident. In Indiana, the average is around 87%, but drivers can pay more or less depending on past traffic violations.
Additionally, drivers convicted of impaired driving may be required to file an SR-22 with the Indiana BMV. Contrary to popular belief, an SR-22 is not a type of insurance, but rather a proof of insurance. An SR-22 proves to the state that the driver is adequately insured and bears – at a minimum – basic liability. If the driver’s policy is canceled, providers will usually notify the BMV. To meet SR-22 requirements, it is essential that the driver maintain minimum levels of coverage in an active policy.
Here are DUI costs in Indiana compared to the national average.
|Pre-DUI||DUI position||Percent increase|
|Indiana||$ 1,254||$ 2,339||+ 87%|
|national average||$ 1,674||$ 3,336||+ 99%|
Finding Auto Insurance After a DUI in Indiana
Whether or not drivers have a DUI belief to consider, it is recommended that you shop around and compare quotes to find what might be the best or most affordable car insurance. But before you decide to switch providers, you might want to consider the discounts you are currently receiving versus the savings opportunities that exist with another company.
Drivers in Indiana with a DUI / OWI conviction may find it best to compare quotes from several domestic or high-share providers, who may offer more competitive rates. Based on annual listed premiums and overall market share, these are the best cheap auto insurance companies for drivers with DUIs in Indiana. To get the most accurate quote for your unique situation, speak directly to an agent for a quote and factor in all of the variables that may be relevant to getting the best rate for the coverage you need.
|Auto insurance company||Average annual premium after a DUI|
|United States||$ 2,126|
|American family||$ 2,368|
|State farm||$ 2,481|
Frequently Asked Questions
Is a DUI or OWI a felony in Indiana?
No, unless the drivers are convicted of multiple charges within 5 years. However, in some situations, a judge may escalate a single DWI offense in Indiana to a felony if the blood alcohol levels are extremely high, if the driving has been reckless, or if people have been injured or killed as a result of the driving.
How quickly is your license suspended after a DUI in Indiana?
Drivers arrested for DWI in Indiana will likely have their license confiscated; after that, drivers will be notified within ten days of arrest if driving privileges are revoked.
Are there any reinstatement fees after license suspension?
Yes. If this is the first license suspension, the fee is $ 150. For the second and third convictions, the fine is up to $ 225 and $ 300.
Is it possible to get a DUI deleted from your record in Indiana?
No, this is not the case. A DUI / OWI conviction remains on the driver’s permanent record with the state. If the driver is found not to be at fault, it may be possible to withdraw the arrest record.
How to get SR-22 insurance?
An SR-22 is not insurance, it is proof of insurance. To file an SR-22 with Indiana BMV, contact your insurer (or the one that offers SR-22 forms) and tell them that you have been mandated to have an SR-22 by your state. There will be a one-time deposit fee between $ 15 and $ 25.
Bankrate uses Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all zip codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, DC Rates shown are based on a 40 year old male and female driver with a clean driving record, credit and the following comprehensive coverage limits:
- Liability for bodily injury of $ 100,000 per person
- $ 300,000 in civil liability for bodily injury per accident
- Civil liability for property damage of $ 50,000 per accident
- $ 100,000 in bodily injury caused by an uninsured motorist per person
- $ 300,000 in uninsured bodily injury per accident to a motorist
- $ 500 collision deductible
- Global deductible of $ 500
To determine the minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets the requirements of each state. Our basic profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and cover 12,000 miles a year.
These are sample rates and should be used for comparison purposes only.
Incident: The rates were calculated by evaluating our basic profile with the following incidents applied: clean criminal record (basic), responsible accident, single speeding ticket, single conviction for driving while intoxicated and forfeiture of coverage.